Posted on

Stupidity: relative to your intentions, apparently!

Hello, again! Yes I’m attempting to write a post a day, so before I run out of steam or forget, or develop bloggers-block, allow me to tell you a story.

I just started a new job a couple of weeks ago. Today I was archiving some old publications, the display case has drawers that are intended to be lifted and slid in so that a normal human can get the back copies and move them out. Which is what I attempted to do. However the runners on which the drawers would usually slide were absent.

Connundrum, what to do?

So I opened the drawer which was exactly at head level for me, and rested it on my head as I removed all copies from March and before.

Now, I don’t claim to have rocked that style. In fact I’m pretty sure no one in the history of the world has ever pulled off wearing a display case, BUT it was useful. My colleagues however said it was the single most idiotic way of undertaking the task they could think of. So I used the time old phrase “If it’s stupid but it works, it’s really not that stupid”.

Apparently no one had ever heard of this phrase before. So I wondered if I had made it up, or perhaps mistranslated it (*editors note*: I work for a Japanese company and I am one of two non-asians in the office, I don’t speak Japanese so our common language is either English or French, which they are not too skilled at handling).

by Pussdaddy (ebaumsworls.com)

Does the apparence of stupidity really matter if it’s not dumb? I mean sure I judge things that I deem to be dumb all the time. But rarely things that look dumb but function well. Credit where credit is due, if a razor blade hooked up to cables coming out of the wall boiled the water in your tea cup, I would say “success!”, and perhaps as an aside “Dude, you know there’s a kettle in the kitchen, right?”.

I mean c’mon, kudos, it may not be pretty, but they intentionally thought-outside-the-box and achieved their goal. Maybe I’m being defensive as my only moment like that was using my head as a drawer prop. Still if its a cultural difference or an aesthetic injury, I think they should’ve acknowledge my little moment of out-of-the-box thinking. Even if I did look as dumb as a rock.

 

by Xeminis (from demotivational.us)
About nemhulye

Born circa 1980 something.

Leave a Reply

